Montgomery County Offices are open to the public. However, in an abundance of caution, anyone entering a County building will be required to wear a mask or face covering, have their temperature checked, and practice social distancing. We ask that you practice safer at home and only visit County buildings when necessary.

County Online Services  | Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA) | FFCRA Employee Rights | Safer at Home Order | ALtogether

Elton N. Dean, Sr.

District 2
District 2 Map

Elton N. Dean, Sr., was first elected to the Montgomery County Commission in November 2000, and was re-elected by his constituents in 2004, 2008, 2012, and again in 2016. He was elected Vice Chairman at the Commission’s organizational meeting in November 2004 and was named Chairman in March 2009. Mr. Dean continues to serve as Chairman of the Montgomery County Commission.

Dean is married to Ronda Jackson Dean. He and his late wife Lillie Hardy Dean have three children, Dawneese Bowen, Elton “Deno” Dean, Jr., and Brandon Dean. He is the son of the late Mary Dean Johnson and Dr. William Johnson.


  • George Washington Carver High School
  • Selma University, A.S., General Studies
  • Alabama State University, B.S., Business/Economics
  • American Real Estate Institute
  • Western Electric/AT&T/Lucent Technologies Corporate Education Center

Business Background

  • Retired manager of Western Electric/AT&T/Lucent technologies
  • Former manager of Firestone Tire and Rubber Company
  • Owner, Dean Realty and 21st Century Hair Studio

Civic Duties

  • Executive Board Member, South Central Alabama Boys and Girls Club
  • Board Member, Montgomery Improvement Association
  • Board Member, MIA Foundation Board
  • Board Member, NAACP
  • Board Member, Cleveland Avenue YMCA
  • Board Member, Kershaw YMCA
  • Board Member, Central Alabama Community Foundation
  • Chairman of Trustee Board and mass choir member, Mount Zion African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church
  • Commissioner, Central Alabama Amateur Baseball League
  • Commissioner, Southern League Dixie Youth Baseball
  • Former Board of Trustees Chairman (9 years), Alabama State University – responsible for $525 million worth of campus improvements during Chairmanship


  • G.W. Carver High School Distinguished Alumni Award (2018)
  • Award of Excellence by One Place Family Justice Center (2016)
  • The Pioneer Award by The Montgomery Tuskegee Times (2015)
  • Alabama State University’s College of Business Administration (COBA) Distinguished Alumni Award (2014)
  • International Economic Development Council’s Leadership for Public Service Award (2012)
  • Alabama State University Silhouette of Service Award (2012)
  • Montgomery Area Chamber of Commerce Chairman’s Award (2012)
  • Citizen of the Year Award by the Sigma Phi Chapter of the Omega Psi Phi Fraternity (2004)
  • Citizen of the Year Award by Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Montgomery Alumni Chapter (2003)
  • Kershaw YMCA Man of the Year Award (2001)

Accomplishments as Chairman and Commissioner of the Montgomery County Commission

  • Implemented the County’s Back to School Sales Tax Holiday
  • Implemented the County’s Weather Preparedness Sales Tax Holiday
  • Implemented the Montgomery Public Schools 1 cent sales tax in 2001
  • In fiscal year 2017/2018, the Commission provided approximately $26 million to MPS and PRS from the one-cent sales tax and an additional $3.5 million towards MPS Debt Service. Since the 1% sales tax started in July 2001, it has generated over $428 million for public education in Montgomery County.
  • Through Chairman Dean’s leadership, the County is on good economic footing –with an outstanding AA credit rating with Standard & Poor’s and Aa1 with Moody’s Investors Ratings.
  • Implemented “On the Road” Commission Meetings to be held in each District to take the meetings back to the community and allow constituents to meet with their representatives

District Neighborhoods

District Two BONDS Neighborhoods

  • Abraham Vineyard
  • Bell Meade
  • Brewer Heights
  • Brickdale/Old Selma Road
  • Carver Park
  • Cedar Point
  • Cloverdale/Idlewild (CIA)
  • Cloverland
  • County Estates
  • Cross Creek
  • Dannelly Pines
  • Elsmeade
  • English Village
  • Fair Meadow
  • Gladlane/Gay Meadows
  • Greater Washington Park
  • Haardt Estates
  • Harvest Lakes
  • Hayneville Road
  • Hunter Station
  • Huntington Heights
  • Lagos Del Sol
  • Lakewood
  • McInnis Rd/Narrow Lane
  • Memorial Heights
  • Mobile Heights
  • Normandale Community
  • Perry Hill
  • Powelldale
  • Prairie View Estates
  • Red Cedar Farms
  • Rosemary
  • Selbrook
  • Seth Johnson
  • Smiley Court
  • Southern Meadows
  • Southlawn Community
  • Spring Park
  • Spring Valley
  • Sutton Place
  • Truett Manor
  • Tulane Gardens
  • Twin Gates
  • Valley Village
  • Westgate
  • Westside Improvement
  • Westview Gardens
  • Westwood
  • Whispering Pines

Neighborhood Schools

Public Schools

  • Bear Exploration Center
  • Carver Elementary
  • Carver High
  • Catoma Elementary
  • Davis Elementary
  • Johnson Elementary
  • MacMillan IB Academy
  • Martin Luther King Elementary
  • McKee Middle School
  • Pintlala Elementary
  • Progressive Academy
  • Southlawn Elementary
  • Southlawn Middle

Private Schools

  • Hooper Academy

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer